More of me… Day 5: I wuz here

30 Jan

Yes I know… 5 months since day 4, forgive me Bobbystalkers, I’ll be better from here on in.

Day 05- A picture of somewhere you’ve been to

What kind of request is this one? Presumably any photograph I post (that either I’ve taken or I’m in) will be of somewhere that I’ve been. What would you like? My local newsagents? That shelf in the chemists that always embarrassed me as a kid? That stretch of road where I once saw a red car with very fogged up windows and four besocked feet in the rear window? A foreign destination? The chipshop down the road?

Edinburgh Castle by Robert J.E. Simpson. © 2011. All Rights Reserved.

Hmm. Well here ya go. A photo of Edinburgh castle as viewed from the gardens at the foot of the mound. I first visited Edinburgh on a primary school trip when I was about 10 years old. I remember it being cold, drizzle, slightly dank. We stayed in a hotel across the road from a pitch of some sort (rugby I think). There were endless expeditions to historical sites, walking around the city, and an embarrassing pre-pubescent disco in the basement of the hotel. Everyone else had bought sensible modern music on their trips to the shops with the spending money we were all permitted. Me, in my old-man wisdom had bought a couple of Elvis cassette tapes. One was From Elvis In Memphis, a largely country-tinged recording. The other, a low-budget compilation the likes RCA Camden used to churn out, with an image of Elvis from Loving You on the cover.

My brother Jonny moved to Edinburgh for University, and so I make a point of trying to get over at least a couple of times a year to visit (speaking of which, I haven’t been over for a while now, must correct that). He works, so a lot of the time I’m wandering around the city on my own, photographing police boxes, climbing the steep hills, and drinking on my own – something I never did until I went to Edinburgh for festival. I think the first time I was waiting to meet Dean Haglund of The X-Files and Lone Gunmen fame. I tend to use the city as an excuse to de-stress and generally be inspired again.

Edinburgh at festival time is a different experience to the rest of the year, and now the film festival has moved to before the main Fringe festival its a very different beast. Jonny (an émigré from Belfast himself) complains vocally about the influx of tourists and non-Edinburgh natives to the city in the summer.

It’s a beautiful gothic city. If you get the chance visit.

Leave a Reply

