More of me… Day 4 : Dirty habits

25 Aug

Sometimes it feels good to have a check list in front of you – a disseminated page of instructions that compel you to obey. For me the ’30 Days of Me’ challenge is just that. Yes, it isn’t exactly the most pushy of blog instructions to ever taunt the humble blogger, but it does force some introspection. Something this nostalgist is fond of doing anyway.

Day 04- A habit that you wish you didn’t have

Oh dear Bobbystalkers, if I proceed to tell you about my dirty habits what will you do with the information? Will you fill my Christmas stocking this year with items to take my mind off them? Will you plunder my weaknesses in an attempt to control my immortal soul? Will you stop loving me and stalk somebody else instead?

Each and every one of us has bad habits I suspect. I have more than enough you know. Where shall I begin… hmm, well lets skip some of the more salacious and obvious…

When I was a kid it was the nosepicking that was probably my worst habit. Constantly pick pick picking. Same with sores and wounds. I’m hardly the first person ever to be guilty of those things. And if I do any of those today, I certainly don’t do them in company. I hope. But times move on…

Procrastination is perhaps my worst habit. Properly filthy it is too. I find I can’t get much work done unless I am up to the wire with impending deadlines and a minimum of four projects up in the air. That said I find it far to easy to distract myself, wander off and well, do anything OTHER than the task in hand.  I guess even this little blog is a form of procrastination. I mean instead of writing it I could be writing something else. But I find it frees up the grey cells, gets them bouncing off each other and gets me in the mood for writing other things, so not all bad. Would be lovely to just sit down and be able to write at whim though.

I probably procrastinate in other areas of my life too though…

I’ll come back to this in the blog on future entries, but I’d like to be less rude. Not impolite. But rude. Was born with a mind in the gutter. Some of you won’t realise this, but then we’ve only just met. It can be a problem. My mind has on occasion been my opening gambit in conversations. I wouldn’t say I’m a cunning linguist necessarily, but it can lead to trouble… Also means I find it hard to tell the difference sometimes between a lady who shares my gift of the gab, and someone who I am having a moment of sexual rappor with. Orally speaking. Eh-hem. I digress.

Which leads me to falling in love. Oh dear. I do this every so often. Never mean to. Probably pick the wrong crush every time (awww). Crushing is fine, but I find it hard to date because I’m almost ready to skip huge steps in the relationship from the off. Leaves you vulnerable. Of course, if asked I’ll usually deny any crush I’m the process of dealing with. But shhhh.

Erm… this has gone off on a tangent. I wish I wasn’t so nice, and eager to please. That’s not maybe a bad thing, but you end up being walked all over and being taken advantage of.

You tell me, which of my bad habits that I have [or haven’t] mentioned should I be shaking off?

2 Responses to “More of me… Day 4 : Dirty habits”

  1. Keith August 31, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Robert? When?/Why did you become an Elvis fan

    • avalard January 30, 2011 at 1:15 am #

      Keith, I’ve been an Elvis fan since I was a kid. My folks had a couple of Elvis LPs in their collection and listening to them I got hooked. Started buying videos (bless you 4Front) and taping the films off TV, as well as picking up records and tapes.

      As for why, well I just loved the music, the voice.

Leave a Reply

